Skip to content
October 24, 2022

Patrick A. Baeuerle, Ph.D.

Dr. Patrick A. Baeuerle is an Entrepreneur at MPM and BioImpact Capital, an affiliate manager of MPM. He is the co-founder of seven oncology portfolio companies including Harpoon Therapeutics (NASDAQ: HARP), iOmx Therapeutics, Maverick Therapeutics (acquired by Takeda), TCR² Therapeutics (NASDAQ: TCRR), Werewolf Therapeutics (NASDAQ: HOWL), Cullinan Oncology (NASDAQ: CGEM), and Aktis Oncology. Patrick currently serves as the Chief Scientific Officer at Cullinan Oncology and the Interim Chief Scientific Officer for a newly formed, stealth portfolio company. Patrick is an investment committee member of the Oncology Impact Funds, private/public funds focused on oncology as well as new modalities, managed by BioImpact Capital.

Prior to joining MPM and BioImpact Capital, Patrick served as Vice President of Research and General Manager of Amgen Research Munich GmbH and as CSO for Micromet, where he was responsible for the development of BiTE antibody Blincyto®, which was approved by the U.S. FDA in 2014 in less than three months as a therapy for relapsed/refractory acute lymphoblastic leukemia. He earlier headed small-molecule drug discovery at Tularik, a publicly traded biotechnology company acquired by Amgen. Prior to this, he was Professor and Chairman of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at the Medical Faculty of Freiburg University, Germany, where he did groundbreaking research on transcription factor NF-kappaB.

Patrick is the recipient of Xconomy’s 2019 “X of the Year Award”, and the European Molecular Biology Laboratory’s 2019 Lennart Philipson Award in recognition of his many contributions to the development of cancer immunotherapies. To date, he has published 245 PubMed-listed papers that have been cited more than 80,000 times. He has a Hirsch index of 138 and was rated Germany’s most frequently cited biomedical scientist of the decade (1990-1999), and among the top 50 worldwide (1990 to 1997).

Patrick holds a Ph.D. in Biology from the University of Munich (LMU) and performed post-doctoral research with Dr. David Baltimore at the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He is also an Honorary Professor of Immunology of the Medical Faculty of LMU in Munich, Germany and is an elected member of the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina.